MikeBellvue(33).jpg

I write for a variety of publications, popular and academic. Click above or here to see my articles and op-eds, policy and research papers, and book reviews. Also feel free to contact me if you'd like me to write for you.

Book Reviews

I enjoy trying to explain the ideas at the frontier of the left and liberal debates, and I find book reviews are one of the best ways to do this. Here are some of my favorites I've written.

Title
Date
Outlet
Book(s) Reviewed
09/20/19
The Nation
Indebted (Caitlin Zaloom)
08/30/17
Vox
Dream Hoarders (Richard Reeves)
07/18/16
Boston Review
The Fractured Republic: Renewing America’s Social Contract in the Age of Individualism (Yuval Levin); American Amnesia: How the War on Government Led Us to Forget What Made America Prosper (Jacob S. Hacker and Paul Pierson)
06/01/16
Dissent
Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City (Matthew Desmond); Chain of Title: How Three Ordinary Americans Uncovered Wall Street’s Great Foreclosure Fraud (David Dayen)
09/21/15
Boston Review
Creating The Administrative Constitution: The Lost One Hundred Years of American Administrative Law (Jerry Mashaw); Tocqueville’s Nightmare: The Administrative State Emerges in America, 1900–1940 (Daniel Ernst); A Republic of Statutes: The New American Constitution (William N. Eskridge Jr. and John Ferejohn); The Workplace Constitution from the New Deal to the New Right (Sophia Z. Lee)
03/01/15
Dissent
The First Civil Right: How Liberals Built Prison America (Naomi Murakawa)
11/10/14
Boston Review
Against the Profit Motive: The Salary Revolution in American Government, 1780–1940 (Nicholas R. Parrillo); The Teacher Wars: A History of America’s Most Embattled Profession (Dana Goldstein); Rise of the Warrior Cop: The Militarization of America’s Police Forces (Radley Balko)
04/29/14
Boston Review
Capital in the Twenty-First Century (Thomas Piketty)
02/08/14
Washington Post
Playing the Whore: The Work of Sex Work (Melissa Gira Grant)
11/26/13
The New Inquiry
Never Let a Serious Crisis Go to Waste (Philip Mirowski)
06/15/12
Dissent
Twilight of the Elites: America After Meritocracy (Christopher Hayes)
03/01/12
Dissent
The Age of Austerity: How Scarcity Will Remake American Politics (Thomas Byrne Edsall)